May 30, 2014

About the BSA

Established in 1943 to ensure the provision of ethical and efficient legal services to the community, we are now the largest local association of solicitors in Northern Ireland.

In its long history, the BSA has consistently represented its members’ interests, lobbying government, promoting the highest standards of legal practice and organising a varied social and Continuing Professional Development programme.

The BSA prides itself on its keen sense of social responsibility and has acted as a staunch defender of the most vulnerable sections of society.

The BSA places charitable work at the centre of our organisation. We have supported various local charities in recent years, including NSPCC, NI Hospice, Action Cancer, Marie Curie, Helping Hand and The Welcome Organisation.

For 2017 and 2018 our nominated charity is Inspire, a charity and social enterprise focusing on promoting wellbeing for all through their mental health, learning disability, addiction and professional wellbeing services.

We in the BSA, and our valued partners, look forward to engaging in fundraising activities throughout the coming year to continue to support the excellent work of Inspire.

A word from our chairman Steven Keown

Since its foundation in 1943 the BSA has sought to represent solicitors practising in the City and Greater Belfast area and has always strived towards the highest professional standards in providing legal services to the community.

Today the BSA represents over 700 solicitors.

It provides an independent lobbying support to ensure that legal issues and challenges are debated in an informed and fair way so that in turn, members of the public can be confident that their solicitors are representing their needs and promoting access to justice and fair representation.

The BSA also provides its members with the highest educational services through a programme of Continuing Professional Development events and lectures that is second to none.

The BSA recognises the need to provide a legal community platform for individual members and firms alike to integrate, progress and support each other. As such, the BSA social events are arguably the central events of the legal calendar where lawyers can come together, but are also events promoting greater relationships with the business community, charities and members of the public.

We will continue to promote the welfare and interests of the legal profession and continue to grow from strength to strength.

Member List

For a list of the individual sub-committees, sub-committee Chairs and members please click here

Eoghan McKenna (Chairman)
MSM
9-15 Queen Street
Belfast BT1 6EA

Telephone: 028 90 321409
E-mail: emckenna@msmsolicitors.com


Steven Keown (Honorary Secretary)
McCallion Keown
462a Oldpark Road
Belfast BT14 6GQ

Telephone: 028 90 740457
E-mail: steven@mccallionkeown.co.uk


Enda Lavery (Honorary Treasurer)
BLM
51 Adelaide Street
Belfast

Telephone: 028 90 327388
E-mail: enda.lavery@blmlaw.com


John Burke
MacElhatton & Co
58 Andersonstown Road
Belfast BT11 9AN

Telephone: 028 90 602828
E-mail: john@macelhatton.com


Simon Crawford
Peden & Reid, Solicitors
22 Callender Street
Belfast BT1 5BU

Telephone: 028 90 325617
E-mail: simoncrawford@pedenreid.com


Conrad Dixon
Tughans
30 Victoria Street
Belfast BT1 3GG

Telephone: 029 90 553300
E-mail: conrad.dixon@tughans.com


John Dugdale
A & L Goodbody
42/46 Fountain Street
Belfast BT1 5EF

Telephone: 028 90 314466
E:mail: jdugdale@algoodbody.com


Anna Flanagan
Pinsent Masons
1 Lanyon Place
Belfast BT1 3LP

Telephone: 029 90 894800
E-mail: anna.flanagan@pinsentmason.com


Niall Hargan
Carson McDowell, Solicitors
Murray House
Murray Street
Belfast BT1 6DN

Telephone: 028 90 244951
E-mail: niall.hargan@carson-mcdowell.com


Darragh Mackin
KRW Law LLP
45 Castle Street
Belfast BT1 1GH

Telephone: 028 90 241888
E-mail: darragh@kevinrwinters.com


Gareth Magee
Crown Solicitors Office
Royal Courts of Justice
Chichester Street
Belfast

E-mail: mageeg@csoni.gov.uk


Ciaran Maguire
McIvor Farrell
129 Springfield Road
Belfast BT12 7AE

Telephone: 028 90 230721
E-mail: ciaran.maguire@mcivorfarrell.co.uk
Web: www.mcivorfarrell.com


Catherine Mallon
Pinsent Masons
1 Lanyon Place
Belfast BT1 3LP

Telephone 028 90 894800
E-mail: catherine.mallon@pinsentmasons.com


Steven Millar
Culbert & Martin, Solicitors
Scottish Provident Buildings
7 Donegall Square West
Belfast BT1 6JB

Telephone: 028 90 325508
E-mail: smillar@culbert-Martin.co.uk


Paul Moylan
McCann & McCann
Cathedral Terrace
19 Church Street
Belfast BT1 1PG

Telephone: 028 90 246405
E-mail: pmoylan@mccannandmccann.com


Cathy Mulhern
John J Rice & Co
Pearl Assurance House,
2 Donegall Square East
Belfast BT1 5HB

Telephone: 028 90 313888
E-mail: cmulhern@jjrsols.com


Claire McKeegan
KRW Law LLP
5 Castle Street
Belfast BT1 1GH

Telephone: 028 90 241888
E-mail: claire@krw-law.ie


Roisin McKenna
Madden & Finucane, Solicitors
88 Castle Street
Belfast BT1 1HE

Telephone: 028 90 238007
E-mail: rmk@madden-finucance.com


Olivia O’Kane
Carson McDowell
Murray House
Murray Street
Belfast BT1 6DN

Telephone: 028 90 244951
E-mail: Olivia.okane@carson-mcdowell.com


Ciaran O’Sheil
A & L Goodbody
42/46 Fountain Street
Belfast BTY1 5EF

Telephone 028 90 314466
E-mail: cosheil@algoodbody.com


Julie Tierney
Edwards & Co
28 Hill Street
Belfast BT1 2LA

Telephone: 028 90 408386
E-mail: julie.tierney@edwardsandcompany.co.uk


Louise Trimble
DWF (Northern Ireland) LLP
42 Queen Street
Belfast BT1 6HL

Telephone: 028 90 230320
E-mail: louise.trimble@dwf.law


Sarah Wilson
MSM
9-15 Queen Street
Belfast BT1 6EA

Telephone: 028 90 321409
E-mail: swilson@msmsolicitors.com


Louise Whittendale
C & H Jefferson
42 Queen Street
Belfast BT1 6HL

Telephone: 028 90 230320
E-mail: louisewhittendale@chjefferson.co.uk